News of the Ark – Friday, February 28

In more news involving religious movie-going critics pre-responding to Darren Aronofsky’s film, Noah, we have Ray Comfort.  Let me preface this report with the statement that I typically like what Ray does.  He’s got some fantastic apologetic videos out there, and I think his video 180 is quite powerful stuff.

Ray ComfortBut that being said, apparently Ray is jumping on the Noah film bashing wagon, and has come out swinging.

Assist News reports:

Another ‘Noah’ Movie to Be Released the Same Day as the Hollywood Version

In the article, Ray is quoted as saying,

They [Hollywood] have no qualms about sensationalizing the story of Noah in order to make it more profitable. That’s their bottom line. But the movie strays so far from the Biblical account that it omits its essential message–God’s judgment for man’s sin and evil. Taking ‘poetic license’ on this story further erodes the public’s perception of the Biblical account–and of the Bible in general.

Ray, I love you brother, but you haven’t seen the movie yet.

How do we know how far the movie strays, when it hasn’t been released?   I know that the movie was screened for select audiences, and that the results were mixed, but who were these people who watched the movie and gave it mixed reviews?  And since when do we let others do our thinking for us?

Given, there are some things I don’t have to experience to know that they are bad.  For example, I don’t have to be in a car accident to know I don’t want to be in a car accident.  But when it comes to movies, I want to watch it for myself and make my own decisions.  I am definitely interested in the thoughts and opinions of people I respect, and I might take their advice and skip a movie if for reasons of content or quality (read: most Christian-made films, I’m sad to say) I’m told it is not worth my time, but I might also choose to watch the film and come to my own conclusions.

So, Ray, I hope that your film, Noah – and the Last Days, does fantastically well, and I fully support the message of your film.  And I will also be looking forward to hearing your thoughts (and the opinion of other Christians I admire) on Aronofsky’s version.

After you’ve seen it.

And this goes double for the people who started the petition to demand that Paramount change Aranofsky’s version of Noah to a more Biblically accurate version, according to their interpretation of Scripture, of course.  The more I’ve thought about this, the more irritated I’ve gotten.  The story of Noah belongs to a LOT of people, not just Christians.  If it was a film about Jesus, I would understand your concern.

And finally, I repeat the question I’ve been asking for the past few days:

How.  Do.  You.  Know.  Noah.  Is.  Not.  Biblical.  When.  You.  Haven’t.  Seen.  It.  ?!?

Leave a Reply

