Tags

1

We’ve hit the two week mark in our month of beauty, and so as I did at the end of the first week, I want to take a moment to reflect on the last seven days.

Day 8 • More Examples of Beauty in Music

My friend Karina has fantastic taste in music, and so when I asked her to share some of her examples of beautiful songs, it wasn’t a disappointment. On Day 8, we were able to enjoy some wonderful music, as well as a lovely perspective of France.

Her are a few other examples she sent.

Day 9 • Beauty goes Interstellar

On Day 9, we turned our attention to the heavens, and to the wonder and beauty that exists beyond the skies above, courtesy of the Hubble Space Telescope. We saw some amazing images along with a beautiful score by Hans Zimmer from one of my favorite films of 2014, Interstellar.

Along those lines, I think this is a fitting companion piece: video footage from orbit, looking back at our beautiful world, along with the music of Brian Emo.

Day 10 • Unplug

When I realized that all of my examples of beauty were digital, or at least digital representations of real things, I concluded that I needed to encourage some independent unplugged searching for beauty. My challenge on this day was for everyone to put the devices down, take a walk in nature, have a cup of coffee with a friend where you don’t check your messages once.

I’ll extend that challenge again. Turn off your phone or your computer, get up, and go find beauty.

Day 11 • The Beauty of Family

This was one of my favorite days of the month so far. I put out the call to friends to send me favorite pictures of people who either are family by blood or by life experience, and I received dozens of beautiful photos of all kinds of different families. It was fun for me to see the extended relations of my friends, but also a good reminder of one of the most important things we’ve been given in life: community.

Head over to Day 11 and experience the beauty of family.

And since Day 14 of this challenge is actually my birthday, I want to celebrate with one more look at my beautiful family. So, if you will indulge me…

img_1477

Day 12 • Monet

On this day, we explored the works of one of the masters. And since Monet loved painting flowers, we also saw some beautiful flower photographs from Heim Studio in Russia. It’s too bad you can’t digitize scents, because flowers – while lovely to look at – are even more beautiful when you can smell them.

Here’s a famous Monet that we missed: Bouquet of Sunflowers (1881). Courtesy of The Met.

dp130800

Day 13 • Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber

We ended the week with another contribution from my friend Blythe, who sent in her favorite symphony, Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber. It is a stirring and emotional piece, and a fitting addition to our examination of beauty.

To add to it, I wanted to share a choral version of the piece recommended to me by my friend Genevieve, performed by the King’s College Choir.

Stay tuned for more examples of embracing beauty, and please share this post with your friends! Let’s help spread beauty all over the internet.

Also, if you have an example of beauty that you want to share, drop me a line at info@thimblerigsark.com and I’ll be happy to include it!

Embracing Beauty • The First Week & Some New

quote-if-eyes-were-made-for-seeing-then-beauty-is-its-own-excuse-for-being-ralph-waldo-emerson-312738

