The Day Off • 40 Days (and Nights) of Christian Media

Warning.  I have been awake for 34 hours.

I’m feeling pretty cranky.

Screen Shot 2015-04-10 at 10.38.31 PMI woke up at 4:00 AM, grabbed a taxi at 5:00 PM, loaded a bus at 6:00 PM, went through the Chinese/Hong Kong borders from 7:00 PM to 7:45 PM, checked in at the Hong Kong airport at 8:30, boarded the Delta flight to Seattle at 10:05.  Eleven and a half hours later, we touched down in Seattle, two hours later we boarded the flight for Phoenix, three hours later we landed in Phoenix.  We met the van to take us to our rental house, went to our partner school for a delicious Mexican meal, stopped off at the grocery store to get some supplies for the morning, and finally now, 34 hours later, I’m sitting in my bed, trying to fall asleep.  But my body thinks it’s 1:30 in the afternoon rather than 10:30 at night.

Got to love international travel.

So, as I said back at the beginning of the challenge, this was my first of two days off from the challenge (the second being my return flight next week).  After all, I can do lots of things, but I can’t spend an 11 hour flight sitting and watching a blank screen because airlines would never carry our preachy, obvious Christian-made movies.

So, I watched three movies that were not Christian-made, and a couple of television programs.

And I was reminded once again why it’s so important that the church build up our believers in Hollywood, so that they can be making the kinds of movies that would be shown on Delta Airlines trans-Pacific flights.

(Photograph by A.Currell, Flickr)

(Photograph by A.Currell, Flickr)

See, there were lots and lots of unsaved souls on that Airbus A330-200 today, and they were filling themselves up with all sorts of media that was created by lots of people, but how many Christians?  That’s the question, isn’t it?  Those so-called evil “Hollywood films” that we Christians love to rail against so much involve many Christians working for them, and we don’t even know about it.  And so we don’t support their work, because they are just producing “Hollywood trash”.

Now, I would be the first to say that I don’t have it all together as a person, nor as a Christian.  But, that being said, I sometimes wonder at the short-sightedness of my Christian brothers and sisters, that on this subject they don’t see the forest for the trees.

“Give us more preachy, obvious (and largely un-watchable) Christian-made movies,” you can almost hear them cry.  “Whatever you do, don’t make a movie that would actually get noticed for the quality outside of our comfortable little subculture!  That might blur the lines too much between our comfy little subculture and the evils of Hollywood!”  Emboldened, they continue.  “No, please, for heaven’s sake, make movies that give the message and do whatever you want with the medium, because I really don’t care about that.  And frankly, I really don’t care about those non-Christians who may wander into Christian-made films (since they won’t have the possibility of watching them on 11 hour airplane rides).  They can just watch their secular movies, and hope nothing happens to their plane.”

“Now be quiet while I re-watch [insert Christian-made movie title here] for the fifth time.”

My apologies, dear readers.  I’ve been awake for 34 hours, and I’m feeling pretty cranky.

I will just say this about the time spent watching the media that Delta had to offer – it felt very refreshing to be watching well-made movies and television once again.

26 days has been a long time.

14 days to go.

And by the way, Christiancinema.com recently sponsored Christian Movie Madness, where people could vote online for their favorite films in a tournament competition similar to basketball’s March Madness.  The movie chosen would win the title “Best. Movie. Ever.”  Well, best Christian-made movie ever, anyway.

The results are in, and the results substantiate what I wrote here, today.  Too many Christians (especially American evangelical Christians), don’t give a rip about the medium of a film.  They just want the message.

*sigh*

We have a very large mountain to climb.

Leave a Reply

